Go to home page

About Us


We were founded in 1801 as “The Society for the Relief of Decayed Members” with the aim of providing support to members of the London Stock Exchange who had fallen upon hard times. In 1877 the name of the charity changed to "The Stock Exchange Benevolent Fund" and, while the name of our charity has changed, our core purpose remains the same to this day. Money was raised by collections administered by elected Stewards from members and member firms. The Fund also receives voluntary donations and bequests. The Fund is governed by a board of Trustees and the Fund’s assets are professionally managed, with the income used to provide the grant funding. The most recent rules of the SEBF were drawn up at a general meeting in 2015 and copies are held in the offices of the charity.

Our Officers

The Officers of the Stock Exchange Benevolent Fund manage the day-to-day operations of the charity including administering grants and providing support to applicants.


Patrick J A Burgess

Deputy Chairman

Julian S Palfreyman


Robert G Chambers

Assistant Secretary

Jennifer Golan

Our Committee

The Committee members are current practitioners or people who have served in the financial community for most of their careers. The Committee meets four times a year to review individual cases and make grant making decisions.

Shaun M Allison

Nicholas W Bagshawe

Charles Bridge

Robert R B Bruce

Joanna Bunkham

Colin G Climie

Spencer O Crooks

Sarah Danes

Andrew Impey

David M Leslie

Timothy R Macdonald

David J Macnamara

Philip C Nathan MBE

C Richard Noel

David M F Scott

Desmond A Shine

Daniel J Southgate

David H Thorpe

Mark A Vaughan

Committee Meetings in 2020
Wednesday 11th March
Tuesday 2nd June
Wednesday 2nd September
Tuesday 1st December
Note The AGM will take place on Tuesday 2nd June before the Committee meeting

Our Trustees

The fund is managed by a board of Trustees who are experts in their chosen fields and provide management and financial guidance to the SEBF.

Patrick J A Burgess

Christopher Holdsworth Hunt

Richard Killingbeck

Michael R I Lilwall

James G Matheson

Julian S Palfreyman

Geoffrey Mark Powell

Andrew H Scott

David M F Scott

Trustee Meetings in 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
Wednesday 21st October

Our Advisors

We are grateful for the support of a number of specialists who provide the charity with advice and services.

Independent Auditors

MHA MacIntyre Hudson (Kent) LLP
Victoria Court, 17-21 Ashford Road
Maidstone, Kent ME14 5FA


Bank of Scotland
PO Box 1000, BX2 1LV


1 New Fetter Lane
London, EC4A 1AN

Investment Advisors

Olim Ltd
1 Benjamin Street
London EC1M 5QG